Support Expanding Access to the Ballot Box

Home/Take Action/Support Expanding Access to the Ballot Box

Voting is the cornerstone of our democracy and ACLU-TN supports efforts to expand access to the ballot box.

SB 592/HB 787, sponsored by Sen. Jeff Yarbro and Rep. Mike Stewart, establishes automatic registration of a person to vote when a person applies for a motor vehicle driver license or photo identification license. The measure includes a mechanism for people to attest to their eligibility to vote when they renew their licenses and ensures such registrations will be processed as in-person voter registrations.

UPDATE: SB 592 failed in the Senate State and Local Government Committee and HB 787 failed in the House Local Government Subcommittee on April 11, 2017.

SB 1026/HB 954, sponsored by Sen. Jeff Yarbro and Rep. Craig Fitzhugh, authorizes a qualified person to register and vote, or to update his or her voter information and vote, on the day of an election.

UPDATE: SB 1026 was referred to the Senate State and Local Government Committee on February 13, 2017. HB 954 was taken off notice in the House Local Government Subcommittee on March 28, 2017.

These measures would make registering to vote easy for voters, expanding and diversifying the electorate in the process.

Senate State and Local Government Committee

Senator Paul Bailey, (615) 741-3978, sen.paul.bailey@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Richard Briggs, (615) 741-1766, sen.richard.briggs@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Todd Gardenhire, (615) 741-6682, sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Ed Jackson, (615) 741-1810, sen.ed.jackson@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Jack Johnson, (615) 741-2495, sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Bill Ketron, (615) 741-6853, sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Mark Norris, (615) 741-1967, sen.mark.norris@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Ken Yager, (615) 741-1449, sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov
Senator Jeff Yarbro, (615) 741-3291, sen.jeff.yarbro@capitol.tn.gov

House Local Government Committee
Representative David Alexander, (615) 741-8695, rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Dale Carr, (615) 741-5981, rep.dale.carr@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Barbara Cooper, (615) 741-4295, rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov
Representative John Crawford, (615) 741-7623, rep.john.crawford@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Jimmy Eldridge, (615) 741-7475, rep.jimmy.eldridge@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Marc Gravitt, (615) 741-1934, rep.marc.gravitt@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Dan Howell, (615) 741-7799, rep.dan.howell@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Larry Miller, (615) 741-4453, rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Antonio Parkinson, (615) 741-4575, rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Cameron Sexton, (615) 741-2343, rep.cameron.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Jerry Sexton, (615) 741-2534, rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Tim Wirgau, (615) 741-6804, rep.tim.wirgau@capitol.tn.gov

2017-08-08T12:33:35+00:00 March 13th, 2017|Categories: Take Action|