Prevent discriminatory restroom signage

Home/Take Action/Prevent discriminatory restroom signage

The Senate Judiciary Committee will take up SB 1224/HB 1182 on Tuesday, April 20. (Last updated April 19, 2021. Check current bill status here.)

SB 1224/HB 1182 would require businesses and public buildings with transgender-inclusive restrooms to post signs that say: “This facility maintains a policy of allowing the use of restrooms by either biological sex, regardless of the designation on the restroom.” These unnecessary signs perpetuate the lie that transgender women are not women and transgender men are not men, in yet another attempt to erase trans people. Worse, this dangerous language could lead to aggression against trans people and trans-inclusive businesses.

Please call or email Senate Judiciary  Committee members and urge them to vote NO on SB 1224/HB 1182.

Sample Phone Script

Hello, my name is _____________. I am calling to ask you to vote no on SB 1224/HB 1182. This bill would attempt to erase transgender people and exclude them from public life.

These would force trans-inclusive businesses to post signs that perpetuate the lie that transgender women are not women and transgender men are not men. This dangerous language could lead to aggression against trans people and trans-inclusive businesses.

Transgender people belong in our communities and have a right to be themselves, without being stigmatized and discriminated against. Please vote no on SB 1224/HB 1182.

Senate Judiciary Committee Members:

Sen. Mike Bell 615-741-1946 sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Todd Gardenhire 615-741-6682 sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Sara Kyle 615-741-4167 sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Jon Lundberg 615-741-5761 sen.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Kerry Roberts 615-741-4499 sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Katrina Robinson 615-741-2509 sen.katrina.robinson@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Paul Rose 615-741-1967 sen.paul.rose@capital.tn.gov
Sen. John Stevens 615-741-4576 sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Dawn White 615-741-6853 sen.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

 

2021-04-19T16:51:21-05:00 April 19th, 2021|Categories: Take Action|