Prevent invasive police drone surveillance.

Home/Take Action/Prevent invasive police drone surveillance.

Last updated April 26, 2021. The current status of each bill can be found by clicking the bill numbers below.

SB 258/HB 924 is a dangerous expansion of law enforcement’s ability to use drones. When police acquire drone technology, they acquire unprecedented power to invade our privacy. Drones can fly unnoticed — tracking us, peering into our homes, and recording our conversations. Regulation of law enforcement’s use of this technology is crucial to protecting our privacy. Yet this bill removes existing restrictions on drone usage, permitting police to use drones to “provide aerial coverage” for any event open to the public. It also extends the period law enforcement may retain data collected by drones — even if that data has no relevance to an ongoing investigation. By gutting our privacy protections, HB 924 hails a new era of invasive surveillance in Tennessee. This bill passed the Senate on April 8 and will be taken up on Tuesday, April 27 in the House Criminal Justice Committee. ACLU-TN Position: Oppose

TAKE ACTION: Please call members of the House Criminal Justice Committee and ask them to hold police accountable.

Sample Phone Script

Hello, my name is ________________. I am calling about to oppose HB 924 and keep police accountable.

When police acquire drone technology, they acquire unprecedented power to invade our privacy. Regulation of law enforcement’s use of this technology is crucial, but this bill removes existing restrictions on drone usage and extends the period law enforcement may retain data collected by drones — even if that data has no relevance to an ongoing investigation.

HB 924 hails a new era of invasive surveillance in Tennessee. I urge you to protect my privacy from invasive police drone surveillance by voting no on HB 924.

Thank you.

House Criminal Justice Committee Members:

Rep. Scotty Campbell 615-741-2050 rep.scotty.campbell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Michael Curcio 615-741-3513 rep.michael.curcio@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Vincent Dixie 615-741-1997 rep.vincent.dixie@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Clay Doggett 615-741-7476 rep.clay.doggett@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Andrew Farmer 615-741-4419 rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Bruce Griffey 615-741-6804 rep.bruce.griffey@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. G.A. Hardaway 615-741-5625 rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. David Hawk 615-741-7482 rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Dan Howell 615-741-7799 rep.dan.howell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Bud Hulsey 615-741-2886 rep.bud.hulsey@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. London Lamar 615-741-3830 rep.london.lamar@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. William Lamberth 615-741-1980 rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Debra Moody 615-741-3774 rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Lowell Russell 615-741-3736 rep.lowell.russell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Jerry Sexton 615-741-2534 rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Paul Sherrell 615-741-1963 rep.paul.sherrell@capitol.tn.gov
2021-04-26T15:50:45-05:00 April 26th, 2021|Categories: Take Action|