Protect Protest in Tennessee

Home/Take Action/Protect Protest in Tennessee

Tell the House Criminal Justice Subcommittee to protect free speech.

The House Criminal Justice Subcommittee will take up this bill on Wednesday, February 24 at 5:00 p.m.
(Last updated February 23, 2021. Current bill status is available here.)

SB 843/HB 513 is a dangerous anti-protest bill targeting peaceful assembly, undermining Tennessee’s long-practiced tradition of nonviolent resistance. This legislation would suppress protest by turning obstruction of traffic into a felony offense. It also offers immunity to drivers who run over protesters in the road. Further, it criminalizes speech that causes “emotional distress” to or “frightens” another person. This vague and troubling suppression of free speech can easily be abused, leading to the criminalization of protesters’ words and beliefs. As was demonstrated this past summer, the government does not need more tools to criminalize, abuse or potentially kill protesters.

Please call or email the following House Criminal Justice Subcommittee members and urge them to vote NO on SB 843/HB 513.

Emails for all House Criminal Justice Subcommittee members:

rep.bill.beck@capitol.tn.gov; rep.michael.curcio@capitol.tn.gov; rep.clay.doggett@capitol.tn.gov; rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bruce.griffey@capitol.tn.gov; rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov; rep.dan.howell@capitol.tn.gov; rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov; rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov; rep.lowell.russell@capitol.tn.gov; rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov

Individual Contact Info for House Criminal Justice Subcommittee members:

Rep. Bill Beck 615-741-3229 rep.bill.beck@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Michael Curcio 615-741-3513 rep.michael.curcio@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Clay Doggett 615-741-7476 rep.clay.doggett@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Andrew Farmer 615-741-4419 rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Bruce Griffey 615-741-6804 rep.bruce.griffey@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. G.A. Hardaway 615-741-5625 rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Dan Howell 615-741-7799 rep.dan.howell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. William Lamberth 615-741-1980 rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Debra Moody 615-741-3774 rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Lowell Russell 615-741-3736 rep.lowell.russell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Jerry Sexton 615-741-2534 rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
2021-03-11T23:14:19-06:00 February 23rd, 2021|Categories: Take Action|