Stop the Attack on Trans Rights and Reproductive Freedom at the Legislature

Home/Take Action/Stop the Attack on Trans Rights and Reproductive Freedom at the Legislature

Four bills are up this week in committees and we need your help to stop them. Two take direct aim on the rights of trans youth and two would undermine Tennesseans’ access to abortion. Please contact the committee members listed below and urge them to oppose all of these bills.

Click here to scroll down to the bills attacking trans rights and click here to scroll down to the bills attacking abortion access.

Trans Rights

TRANS RIGHTS: Tell the House Education K-12 Subcommittee to let trans student athletes compete.
The House Education K-12 Subcommittee meeting is Tuesday, 3/3/20 at 4:30 p.m.

1) HB 1572/SB 2077: If passed, this bill would force trans public school athletes to compete as the gender they were assigned at birth as well as withhold state funds from schools that stand with their trans students. This bill violates federal law as well as the Constitution’s Equal Protection Clause and is even more restrictive than the gender guidelines for the Olympics. Trans students are already at risk for bullying, lower GPAs, lower school attendance and higher levels of depression. If passed, this bill will add sex discrimination in sports to the long list of challenges facing trans students in Tennessee. Please call or email the following House Education K-12 subcommittee members and urge them to vote NO on HB 1572/SB 2077.

Emails for all House Education K-12 Subcommittee members:

rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov; rep.mark.white@capitol.tn.gov; rep.terri.lynn.weaver@capitol.tn.gov; Rep.vincent.dixie@capitol.tn.gov; rep.kirk.haston@capitol.tn.gov; Rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov; rep.iris.rudder@capitol.tn.gov; rep.john.ragan@capitol.tn.gov; Rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov; rep.scott.cepicky@capitol.tn.gov

Individual Contact Info for House Education K-12 Subcommittee members:

Representative John Windle, (615) 741-1260, rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mark White, (615) 741-4415, rep.mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Terri Weaver, (615) 741-2192, rep.terri.lynn.weaver@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Vincent Dixie, (615) 741-1997, Rep.vincent.dixie@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Kirk Haston, (615) 741-0750, rep.kirk.haston@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Antonio Parkinson, (615) 741-4575, Rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Iris Rudder, (615) 741-8695, rep.iris.rudder@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Ragan, (615) 741-4400, rep.john.ragan@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Jerry Sexton, (615) 741-2534, Rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Scott Cepicky, (615) 741-3005, rep.scott.cepicky@capitol.tn.gov

 

TRANS RIGHTS: Tell the House Criminal Justice Subcommittee not to discriminate against trans youth in your name.
The House Criminal Justice Subcommittee meeting is Tuesday, 3/3/20 at 12 p.m.

2) HB 2576/SB 2215: This bill aims to criminalize healthcare professionals for providing life-saving, medically-indicated evidence-based treatment appropriate to meet the healthcare needs of transgender youth Transgender youth deserve a chance to feel safe to explore their identity with trusted adults in their lives and to have access to supportive clinical care without fearing that the people in their lives will be sent to prison for listening to and affirming them. Urge your committee representative to prioritize the health of trans students in Tennessee and vote NO on HB 2576/SB 2215.

Emails for all House Criminal Justice Subcommittee members:

rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov; rep.brandon.ogles@capitol.tn.gov; rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov; rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov; rep.clay.doggett@capitol.tn.gov; rep.michael.curcio@capitol.tn.gov; rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov; rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov

Individual Contact Info for House Criminal Justice Subcommittee members:

Representative Antonio Parkinson, (615) 741-4575, rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Brandon Ogles, (615) 741-6808, rep.brandon.ogles@capitol.tn.gov

Representative William Lamberth, (615) 741-1980, rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Andrew Farmer, (615) 741-4419, rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Clay Doggett, (615) 741-7476, rep.clay.doggett@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Michael Curcio, (615) 741-3513, rep.michael.curcio@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Karen Camper, (615) 741-1898, rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov

Representative G.A. Hardaway, (615) 741-5625, rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov

Reproductive Freedom

REPRODUCTIVE FREEDOM: Tell the House Health Committee that doctors shouldn’t be forced to lie to women.
The House Health Committee meeting is Tuesday, 3/3/20 at 9 a.m.

3) HB 2568/SB 2465: This bill requires medical professionals to provide inaccurate information to women stating that they have the option to reverse a chemical abortion. The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists opposes so-called medication abortion “reversal” bills because “reversal” procedures are unproven and unethical and legislative mandates based on unproven, unethical research are dangerous to women’s health. Urge House Health committee members to protect women’s safety in Tennessee and vote NO on HB 2568/SB 2465.

Emails for all House Health Committee members:

rep.tom.leatherwood@capitol.tn.gov; rep.david.byrd@capitol.tn.gov; rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov; rep.vincent.dixie@capitol.tn.gov; rep.ron.gant@capitol.tn.gov; rep.mark.hall@capitol.tn.gov; rep.esther.helton@capitol.tn.gov; rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov; rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov; rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov; rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov; Rep.john.ray.clemmons@capitol.tn.gov; rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov; rep.paul.sherrell@capitol.tn.gov; rep.robin.smith@capitol.tn.gov; rep.micah.vanhuss@capitol.tn.gov; rep.kevin.vaughan@capitol.tn.gov; rep.darren.jernigan@capitol.tn.gov; Rep.bob.freeman@capitol.tn.gov; rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov; Rep.mark.white@capitol.tn.gov; Rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov

Individual Contact Info for House Health Committee members:

Representative Tom Leatherwood, (615) 741-7084, rep.tom.leatherwood@capitol.tn.gov

Representative David Byrd, (615) 741-2190, rep.david.byrd@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Barbara Cooper, (615) 741-4295, rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Vincent Dixie, (615) 741-1997, rep.vincent.dixie@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ron Gant, (615) 741-6890, rep.ron.gant@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mark Hall, (615) 741-1350, rep.mark.hall@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Esther Helton, (615) 741-1934, rep.esther.helton@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Matthew Hill, (615) 741-2251, rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Bryan Terry, (615) 741-2180, rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Sabi ‘Doc’ Kumar, (615) 741-2860, rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Sam Whitson, (615) 741-1864, rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Larry Miller, (615) 741-4453, rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Ray Clemmons, (615) 741-4410, Rep.john.ray.clemmons@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Jerry Sexton, (615) 741-2534, rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Paul Sherrell, (615) 741-1963, rep.paul.sherrell@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Robin Smith, (615) 741-2548, rep.robin.smith@capitol.tn.gov

Representative James (Micah) Van Huss, (615) 741-1717, rep.micah.vanhuss@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Kevin Vaughan, (615) 741-1866, rep.kevin.vaughan@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Darren Jernigan, (615) 741-6959, rep.darren.jernigan@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Bob Freeman, (615) 741-0709, Rep.bob.freeman@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Bob Ramsey, (615) 741-3560, Rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mark White, (615) 741-4415, Rep.mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ryan Williams, (615) 741-1875, Rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov

REPRODUCTIVE FREEDOM: Tell the Senate Judiciary Committee not to criminalize abortion in Tennessee.
The Senate Judiciary Committee meeting is Tuesday, 3/3/20 at 3 p.m.

4) SB2196/HB 2263: Governor Lee has just released the most restrictive abortion bill in the United States and SB 2196 will soon be amended to include the governor’s new language. This bill imposes a felony charge for medical professionals who preform an abortion after six weeks as well as restricting the reasons a woman can have an abortion at all. If passed, this bill will effectively outlaw abortion in the state of Tennessee and put medical professionals at risk of criminalization just for doing their jobs. Urge your committee representative to keep abortion safe and legal in Tennessee and vote NO on SB 2196/HB 2263.

Emails for all Senate Judiciary Committee members:

Sen.Dawn.White@capitol.tn.gov; sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov; Sen.Katrina.Robinson@capitol.tn.gov; sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov; Sen.Jon.Lundberg@Capitol.tn.gov; sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov; sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov; sen.janice.bowling@capitol.tn.gov; sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov

Individual Contact Info for Senate Judiciary Committee members:

Senator Dawn White, Sen.Dawn.White@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-6853

Senator John Stevens, sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-4576

Senator Katrina Robinson, Sen.Katrina.Robinson@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-2509

Senator Kerry Roberts, sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-4499

Senator Jon Lundberg, Sen.Jon.Lundberg@Capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-5761

Senator Sara Kyle, sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-4167

Senator Todd Gardenhire, sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-6682

Senator Janice Bowling, sen.janice.bowling@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-6694

Senator Mike Bell, sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov, (615) 741-1946

2020-03-02T17:47:58-06:00 March 2nd, 2020|Categories: Take Action|