Stop politicians’ attempt to make the Bible into Tennessee’s state book.

Home/Take Action/Stop politicians’ attempt to make the Bible into Tennessee’s state book.

The House Naming, Designating & Private Acts Committee will take up this bill on Tuesday, March 16 at 10:30 a.m.

(Last updated March 12, 2021. Check current bill status here.)

The First Amendment makes clear that the government cannot privilege one religion over another.

But state lawmakers are attempting to do just that, by once again pursuing HJR 150, a flatly unconstitutional measure that would make the Bible Tennessee’s state book.

In 2016, Governor Bill Haslam vetoed a similar measure that also clearly violated both the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution and the Tennessee Constitution, just as this resolution would.

Tennesseans come from many different faith backgrounds. Our elected officials should not be in the business of placing one religion on a pedestal over another, or codifying into law the message that one Tennessean’s faith is more legitimate than another’s.

Government officials must not use their official positions to promote their own religious beliefs, much less turn their personal religious views into law.

TAKE ACTION: Please call members of the House Naming, Designating & Private Acts Committee and urge them to oppose making the Bible Tennessee’s state book.

Sample Phone Script

Hello, my name is ________________. I am calling to ask you to vote no on HJR 150. The government should not be in the business of privileging one religion over another. This resolution violates the separation of church and state and I urge you to vote no on HJR 150.

House Naming, Designating & Private Acts Committee Members’ Contact Info

Rep. David Byrd 615-741-2190 rep.david.byrd@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Glen Casada 615-741-4389 rep.glen.casada@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Barbara Cooper 615-741-4295 rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Clay Doggett 615-741-7476 rep.clay.doggett@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Rick Eldridge 615-741-6877 rep.rick.eldridge@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Rusty Grills 615-741-0718 rep.rusty.grills@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Gloria Johnson 615-741-2031 rep.gloria.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Tom Leatherwood 615-741-7084 rep.tom.leatherwood@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Bo Mitchell 615-741-4317 rep.bo.mitchell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Tim Rudd 615-741-2804 rep.tim.rudd@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Jerry Sexton 615-741-2534 rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Paul Sherrell 615-741-1963 rep.paul.sherrell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Ron Travis 615-741-1450 rep.ron.travis@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Todd Warner 615-741-4170 rep.todd.warner@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Terri Weaver 615-741-2192 rep.terri.lynn.weaver@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. John Windle 615-741-1260 rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov
2021-03-12T22:58:30-06:00 March 12th, 2021|Categories: Take Action|