Stop Tennessee’s Abortion Ban Trigger Bill

Home/Take Action/Stop Tennessee’s Abortion Ban Trigger Bill

A bill that would ban all abortion in Tennessee should Roe v. Wade be overturned had failed in subcommittee — but it may be back.

SB 1257/HB 1029, which would ban abortion in Tennessee immediately should the U.S. Supreme Court overturn Roe v. Wade, had originally failed in the House Public Health Subcommittee on March 27. However, we understand that there will be a movement to revive the bill by recalling it from the subcommittee to the full committee on Tuesday, April 9 at 8 a.m. It is also set to be heard in the Senate Judiciary Committee on April 9.

When someone makes the very personal decision to end a pregnancy, they should be able to do so safely, with dignity and free from political interference, punishment or judgment.

Reproductive healthcare decisions should be made by women in consultation with their doctors and their families – not forced onto them by politicians.

Take Action: Please contact committee members to urge them to drop this dangerous bill once and for all.

House Health Committee:

Rep. Terry Bryan, (615) 741-2180, rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. David Byrd, (615) 741-2190, rep.david.byrd@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Barbara Cooper, (615) 741-4295, rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Vincent Dixie, (615) 741-1997, rep.vincent.dixie@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Ron Gant, (615) 741-6890, rep.ron.gant@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Mark Hall, (615) 741-1350, rep.mark.hall@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Esther Helton, (615) 741-1934, rep.esther.helton@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Matthew Hill, (615) 741-2251, rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Darren Jernigan, (615) 741-6959, rep.darren.jernigan@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Sabi ‘Doc’ Kumar, (615) 741-2860, rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Tom Leatherwood, (615) 741-7084, rep.tom.leatherwood@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Larry Miller, (615) 741-4453, rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Jerry Sexton, (615) 741-2534, rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Cameron Sexton, (615) 741-2343, rep.cameron.sexton@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Paul Sherrell, (615) 741-1963, rep.paul.sherrell@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Robin Smith, (615) 741-2548, rep.robin.smith@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. James Micah Van Huss, (615) 741-1717, rep.micah.vanhuss@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Kevin Vaughan, (615) 741-1866, rep.kevin.vaughan@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Sam Whitson, (615) 741-1864, rep.sam.whitson@capitol.tn.gov


Senate Judiciary Committee:

Sen. Mike Bell, (615) 741-1946, sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Janice Bowling, (615) 741-6694, sen.janice.bowling@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Todd Gardenhire, (615) 741-6682, sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Sara Kyle, (615) 741-4167, sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Jon Lundberg, (615) 741-5761, Sen.Jon.Lundberg@Capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Kerry Roberts, (615) 741-4499, sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Katrina Robinson, (615) 741-2509, Sen.Katrina.Robinson@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. John Stevens, (615) 741-4576, sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Dawn White, (615) 741-6853, Sen.Dawn.White@capitol.tn.gov

2019-04-08T18:24:14+00:00 April 8th, 2019|Categories: Take Action|