Stop Unconstitutional Executions of People with Intellectual Disabilities

Home/Take Action/Stop Unconstitutional Executions of People with Intellectual Disabilities

Tell the Senate Judiciary Committee and House Criminal Justice Subcommittee to protect Tennessee from unconstitutionally executing a person with an intellectual disability.

The Senate Judiciary Committee will take up this bill on Tuesday, March 23. The House Criminal Justice Subcommittee will take it up on Wednesday, March 24.
(Last updated March 22, 2021. Check current bill status here.)

SB 1349/HB 1062 would redefine the term “intellectual disability” for purposes of determining eligibility for the death penalty. Individuals with intellectual disability are less able to understand their actions and circumstances, making them both less culpable and especially vulnerable to wrongful execution. The U.S. Supreme Court ruled in Atkins v. Virginia that people with intellectual disability, because of their diminished personal culpability, should not be executed. The court held that defendants with intellectual disability “may be less able to give meaningful assistance to their counsel and are typically poor witnesses, and their demeanor may create an unwarranted impression of lack of remorse for their crimes.” Urge lawmakers to protect Tennessee from unconstitutionally executing a person with an intellectual disability.

Please call or email the following Senate Judiciary Committee members and urge them to vote YES on SB 1349/HB 1062.

Individual Contact Info for Senate Judiciary Committee members:

Sen. Jon Lundberg District 4 615-741-5761 sen.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Mike Bell District 9 615-741-1946 sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Todd Gardenhire District 10 615-741-6682 sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Dawn White District 13 615-741-6853 sen.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. John Stevens District 24 615-741-4576 sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Kerry Roberts District 25 615-741-4499 sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Sara Kyle District 30 615-741-4167 sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov
Sen. Paul Rose District 32 615-741-1967 sen.paul.rose@capital.tn.gov
Sen. Katrina Robinson District 33 615-741-2509 sen.katrina.robinson@capitol.tn.gov

Please call or email the following House Criminal Justice Subcommittee members and urge them to vote YES on SB 1349/HB 1062.

Rep. Bill Beck 615-741-3229 rep.bill.beck@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Michael Curcio 615-741-3513 rep.michael.curcio@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Clay Doggett 615-741-7476 rep.clay.doggett@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Andrew Farmer 615-741-4419 rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Dan Howell 615-741-7799 rep.dan.howell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. William Lamberth 615-741-1980 rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Debra Moody 615-741-3774 rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Lowell Russell 615-741-3736 rep.lowell.russell@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Jerry Sexton 615-741-2534 rep.jerry.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
2021-03-22T17:51:57-05:00 March 9th, 2021|Categories: Take Action|